Explore

Thursday 14 December 2006

2006-12-14

It was Thursday, under the sign of Sagittarius. The US president was George W. Bush (Republican). In that special week of December people in US were listening to Irreplaceable by Beyonce. In UK Patience by Take That was in the top 5 hits. The Painted Veil, directed by John Curran, was one of the most viewed movies released in 2006 while Cross by James Patterson was one of the best selling books.
But much more happened that day: find out below..

Or have a look at the whole 2006.

Old Newspapers

Old Newspapers

Have a look at the old newspapers from 14 December 2006 and get them!

Movies

Which were the most popular movies released this week ?

The Painted Veil

Directed by: John Curran

Starring: Naomi Watts, Edward Norton, Liev Schreiber

Country: United States

More info

Rocky Balboa

Directed by: Sylvester Stallone

Starring: Sylvester Stallone, Antonio Tarver, Milo Ventimiglia

Country: United States

More info

Eragon

Directed by: Stefen Fangmeier

Starring: Ed Speleers, Sienna Guillory, Jeremy Irons

Country: United States

More info

The Pursuit of Happyness

Directed by: Gabriele Muccino

Starring: Will Smith, Thandie Newton, Jaden Smith

Country: United States

More info

The Good Shepherd

Directed by: Robert De Niro

Starring: Matt Damon, Angelina Jolie, Robert De Niro

Country: United States

More info

TV Series

Which were the most popular TV series released in the last months ?

Strutter

Starring: Paul Kaye, Paul Garner, Lucy Montgomery, Thaila Zucchi

Country: United Kingdom

Heavy Sedation

Starring: Brian Anthony Wilson, Damon Diggs, Rasheda El, Ina Farrell

Country: United States

More info

We Need Girlfriends

Starring: Evan Bass, Patrick Cohen, Seth Kirschner

Country: United States

America's Game: The Superbowl Champions

Starring: Bruce Willis, Ben Roethlisberger, Martin Sheen, Joe Greene

Country: United States

Pride Fighting Championships

Starring: Jay Glazer, Frank Trigg

Country: United States

More info

Find out your future

Find out your future

Get a FREE Numerology report based on the digits of 14 December 2006!

GET YOUR FREE NUMEROLOGY REPORT NOW

Wish him/her..

Send your special wishes with this personalized page

Send him/her your special wishes with this personalized page

Click here for a personalized message

Historical Events

Which were the important events of 14 December 2006 ?

Holidays:
  • R.C. Saints - Memorial of Saint John of the Cross
Famous Birthdays:
See famous people born on 14 December
Famous Deaths:
  • Ahmet Ertegun: Turkish-American songwriter and producer founded Atlantic Records (d. 2006).
  • Anton Balasingham: Sri Lankan political strategist (Born 1938).
Facts:
  • American spy satellite USA-193 is launched.
  • The head of UK security service MI5, Dame Eliza Manningham-Buller, has announced she will step down from her post after four years. (The Times)
  • A research expedition concludes that the Chinese River Dolphin is now likely extinct, directly due to human action. (Globe Mail)
  • Ban Ki-moon is officially sworn in as the next United Nations Secretary-General. (BBC)
  • The Supreme Court of Israel decides that the targeted assassination of Palestinian militants by the Israeli military can be legal under international law. (AP via Houston Chronicle)

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Don't miss our monthly news, no spam guarantee

Click here to Subscribe

Make this date unforgettable

Make this date unforgettable

Have a look at our special collection of personalized gifts

Look at our personalized gifts

CD and DVD Birthday Cards

CD and DVD Birthday Cards

CD and DVD cards from 14 December 2006 to enjoy the time of your life

See our collection

Magazine Covers

What news were making the headlines those days in December 2006?

  • Time: A soldier's persoal belongings are hung up
  • SportsIllustrated: Sports Illustrated: no.10595
  • EW: Entertainment Weekly: no.910

Books

Which were the most popular books released in the last weeks ?

Cross

By: James Patterson

ALSO PUBLISHED AS ALEX CROSSAlex Cross was a rising star in the Washington, DC, Police Department when an unknown shooter gunned down his wife, Maria, in front of him.

More info

For One More Day

By: Mitch Albom

From the author of The Five People You Meet in Heaven and Tuesdays with Morrie, a new novel that millions of fans have been waiting for.

More info

Dear John

By: Nicholas Sparks

An angry rebel, John dropped out of school and enlisted in the Army, not knowing what else to do with his life--until he meets the girl of his dreams, Savannah.

More info

The Innocent Man: Murder and Injustice in a Small Town

By: John Grisham

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In the vein of Serial and Making a Murderer, John Grisham’s first work of nonfiction will terrify anyone who believes in the presumption of innocence.

More info

Remember when

Remember when

Birthday and personalized Football books

Discover our birthday books

Videogames

What videogames would you be playing back in the days ?

Driver: Vegas

Driver: Vegas

Platform: Mobile phone

Genre: Action-adventure

Publisher: Glu Mobile

Chao Dream Touch! Happy Anniversary

Chao Dream Touch! Happy Anniversary

Platform: Nintendo DS

Genre: Action

Publisher: Marvelous Interactive

Chaos Wars

Platform: PlayStation 2

Genre: Tactical role-playing

Publisher: JP Idea Factory; NA O3 Entertainment

More info

Cloning Clyde

Platform: Xbox 360 (XBLA), Windows (Steam)

Genre: Side-scroller, Platformer

Publisher: Microsoft

More info
Lost Planet (series)

Lost Planet (series)

Platform: Xbox 360, Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 3, Nintendo 3DS

Genre: Third-person shooter

Publisher: Capcom


Tell the world why 14 December 2006 is such a special date for you!