#
Boosts
Is this date important to you? Boost it!

Thursday 17 June 1915

It was Thursday, under the sign of Gemini. The US president was Woodrow Wilson (Democratic). Famous people born on this day include Stringbean [David Akeman] and David ''Stringbean'' Akeman. The Dictator, directed by Oscar Eagle, was one of the most viewed movies released in 1915
But much more happened that day: find out below..

You can also have a look at the whole 1915 or at June 17 across the years.

Old Newspapers

Old Newspapers

Have a look at the old newspapers from 17 June 1915 and get them!

Movies

Which were the most popular movies released in the last months ?

The Dictator

Directed by: Oscar Eagle

Starring: John Barrymore, Charlotte Ives, Ruby Hoffman

Country: United States

Jim the Penman

Directed by: Edwin S. Porter

Starring: Harold Lockwood, John Mason, Russell Bassett

Country: United States

Fantomas Against Fantomas

Directed by: Louis Feuillade

Starring: Ren Navarre, Georges Melchior, Laurent Morlas

Country: United States

More info

Four Feathers

Directed by: J. Searle Dawley

Starring: Edgar L. Davenport, Fuller Mellish, Ogden Childe

Country: United States

The Middleman

Directed by: George Loane Tucker

Starring: Albert Chevalier, Jane Gail, Gerald Ames

Country: United States

Find out your future

Find out your future

Get a FREE Numerology report based on the digits of 17 June 1915!

GET YOUR FREE NUMEROLOGY REPORT NOW

Wish him/her..

Send your special wishes with this personalized page

Send him/her your special wishes with this personalized page

Click here for a personalized message

Historical Events

Which were the important events of 17 June 1915 ?

Holidays:
  • St. Albert Chmielowski.
  • National holiday of West Germany until 1990, see Workers' Uprising of 1953 in East Germany.
  • Iceland's national day, celebrating independence from Denmark in 1944.
Famous Birthdays:
  • Stringbean [David Akeman]: Kentucky, United States -- Banjoist / comedian (Hee Haw).
  • David ''Stringbean'' Akeman: American actor and country music banjo player (d. 1973).
  • Mario Echandi Jimenez: Costa Rican lawyer and politician, was a member of the Legislative Assembly from 1953 to 1958 and President of Costa Rica from 1958 to 1962.
  • : American singer and banjo player (d. 1973).
  • Marcel Cadieux: Canadian civil servant and diplomat Canadian Ambassador to the United States (d. 1981).
See other famous people born on 17 June
Facts:
  • League to Enforce Peace forms in Philadelphia

Music Charts

Which were the top hits in that special week of June 1915 ?

Top #1 songs in the USA
  1. Gems from Maid in America - Victor Light Opera Co.

Search For Your Ancestors

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Don't miss our monthly news, no spam guarantee Click here to Subscribe

...and if 17 June 1915 was your Birth Date then Join our Birthday Club!

Make this date unforgettable

Make this date unforgettable

Have a look at our special collection of personalized gifts

Look at our personalized gifts

Genealogy: find out your family heritage

Magazine Covers

What news were making the headlines those days in June 1915?

  • Science: Science vol. 41 issue 1067
  • Science: Science vol. 41 issue 1066
  • Science: Science vol. 41 issue 1065

Books

Which were the most popular books released in the last weeks ?

The Turmoil

By: Booth Tarkington

A familiar midwestern novel in the tradition of Sherwood Anderson and Sinclair Lewis, The Turmoil was the best-selling novel of 1915. It is set in a small, quiet city--never named but closely resembling the author's hometown of Indianapolis--that is quickly ...

More info

A Far Country

By: Winston Churchill

Though American author Winston Churchill often focused on historical events as inspiration for his novels, his later work more often explored the way that events conspired to shape his characters' opinions and values.

More info

Michael O'Halloran

By: Gene Stratton Porter

How is this book unique? Font adjustments & biography included Unabridged (100% Original content) Illustrated About Michael O'Halloran by Gene Stratton-Porter This early 20th-century classic chronicles the adventures of an orphaned newspaper boy in his "hand-to-hand scuffle" with life in ...

More info

Pollyanna Grows Up

By: Eleanor H. Porter

The sequel to Pollyanna finds the effervescent orphan on the verge of womanhood. Her crippled legs cured, Pollyanna takes her glad heart to cheer new friends in Boston before travelling to Europe with Aunt Polly and Dr Chilton.

More info

Remember when

Remember when

Birthday and personalized Football books

Discover our birthday books

Videogames

What videogames would you be playing back in the days ?


#
Boosts
Is this date important to you? Boost it!

Tell the world why 17 June 1915 is such a special date for you!