September 2005 calendar

September 2005
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Learn the most interesting events and historical facts that happened in September 2005.
The US president was George W. Bush (Republican), the UK Prime Minister was Tony Blair (Labour), Pope Benedict XVI was leading the Catholic Church.

But much more happened on September 2005: find out below

history

Historical Events

Which were the important events of September 2005?


Events

  • 01 Sep 2005 A judge in Aruba orders the conditional release of Joran van der Sloot, the 18-year-old Dutch citizen being held in connection with the disappearance of Natalee Holloway.
  • 02 Sep 2005 U.S. President George W. Bush tours the area devastated by Hurricane Katrina amidst growing criticism of his lack of leadership. Media reports say he will not visit New Orleans. Bush said order would be restored and New Orleans would emerge from its "darkest days". (BBC)
  • 03 Sep 2005 William Rehnquist, Chief Justice of the United States, dies of thyroid cancer at the age of 80. He was appointed Associate Justice of the United States Supreme Court in 1971 by Richard Nixon and was named Chief Justice by Ronald Reagan in 1986. (San Francisco Chronicle)
  • 04 Sep 2005 Israeli-Palestinian conflict: PNA President Mahmoud Abbas said that 97.5 percent of Gaza Strip lands that Israel would evacuate from were state-owned lands and that the Islamic University was entitled to receive lands in order to expand its facilities.(IPC)
  • 05 Sep 2005 John G. Roberts is nominated by President George W. Bush for Chief Justice of the United States, to replace William Rehnquist, who had died two days previously.
  • 06 Sep 2005 Israeli troops, who are still in the process of withdrawing from Gaza, shoot dead a Palestinian teenager as he and about 50 others breach a fence around the evacuated Israeli settlement of Gush Katif and climbed atop of IDF tanks. (BBC) (Haaretz)
  • 07 Sep 2005 First presidential election is held in Egypt.
  • 08 Sep 2005 Two EMERCOM Il-76 aircraft land at a disaster aid staging area at Little Rock Air Force Base; the first time Russia has flown such a mission to North America.
  • 09 Sep 2005 United States Department of Homeland Security Secretary Michael Chertoff appoints Vice Admiral Thad W. Allen, chief of staff of the United States Coast Guard, to direct Hurricane Katrina relief efforts in New Orleans, in place of Federal Emergency Management Agency director Michael D. Brown, who returns to Washington to direct planning for future disaster relief. (CTV.ca)
  • 10 Sep 2005 Four people are known to have died following a football match in the Democratic Republic of Congo after a wall collapsed in the stadium the teams were playing in. (BBC)
  • 11 Sep 2005 An eleven minute video tape purporting to be from Al Qaeda is delivered to American network ABC in Pakistan and shown on ''Good Morning America'', warns of future attacks on Los Angeles, California and Melbourne, Australia. Adam Yahiye Gadahn, an American convert to Islam, called the September 11, 2001 attacks ampquotblessed eventsampquot and commenting on possible attacks in the future stated, ampquotThis time, don't count on us demonstrating restraint and compassion.ampquot (Reuters)
  • 12 Sep 2005 Hong Kong Disneyland opens in Penny's Bay, Lantau Island, Hong Kong.
  • 13 Sep 2005 The rebel National Liberation Front of Burundi breaks off peace negotiations with the new government of Pierre Nkurunziza. (BBC)
  • 14 Sep 2005 The President of Pakistan, Pervez Musharraf, shakes hands with the Prime Minister of Israel, Ariel Sharon, the first time such an encounter has been made in public. (BBC)
  • 15 Sep 2005 Nintendo finally reveals the controller for its next generation console on its website. Reactions from gamers are mixed. (Nintendo)Archived October 12, 2007, at the Wayback Machine
  • 16 Sep 2005 The Camorra organized crime boss Paolo Di Lauro gets arrested in Naples, Italy.
  • 17 Sep 2005 Addressing the U.N. General Assembly, Iranian President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad rejects an offer from the European Union to halt its nuclear program: ampquotThe most far reaching step outside the requirements of the NPT … in keeping with Iran's inalienable right to have access to a nuclear fuel cycle.ampquot
  • 18 Sep 2005 Afghan parliamentary election: Former Northern Alliance warlords and their followers claim victory.
  • 19 Sep 2005 North Korea agrees to stop building nuclear weapons in exchange for aid and cooperation.
  • 20 Sep 2005 Conflict in Iraq: Five U.S. troops die following three insurgent attacks, two in Ramadi and one in Baghdad. (BBC)
  • 21 Sep 2005 JetBlue Airways Flight 292 en route to New York from Burbank, California, experiences nose gear malfunctions shortly after takeoff when the nose wheels rotated 90 degrees to the left. The Airbus A320-232 circles Los Angeles to burn off fuel before landing at Los Angeles Airport without serious incident or injury.(Los Angeles Times)
  • 22 Sep 2005 Australia agrees to fund Indonesia's response to avian influenza by providing anti-viral drugs to protect health workers in the event of a pandemic and contributing to a World Health Organisation team being sent to Jakarta. The Federal Opposition foreign affairs spokesman, Kevin Rudd, urged the Australian Government to further co-operate with regional states by calling for a regional summit on the issue. (ABC) (ABC)
  • 23 Sep 2005 Filiberto Ojeda Rios, Puerto Rican nationalist movement leader, is killed following a shootout with the FBI. (BBC)
  • 24 Sep 2005 Worldwide protests occur against the Iraq War, with over 150,000 protestors in Washington DC.
  • 25 Sep 2005 American psychiatrist and best-selling author M. Scott Peck, M.D. Dies after suffering from Parkinson's disease and pancreatic and liver duct cancer. Peck, 69, was the author of The Road Less Traveled. (New York Times), (NPR)
  • 26 Sep 2005 U.S. Army Reservist Lynndie England is convicted by a military jury on six of seven counts in connection with the Abu Ghraib prisoner abuse scandal.
  • 27 Sep 2005 During a US State Department visit to Jidda, Saudi Arabia, Karen Hughes receives a mixed reaction when she suggests Saudi women be allowed to drive cars and to "fully participate" in society.(NYT) (registration required)
  • 28 Sep 2005 American politician Tom DeLay is indicted on charges of criminal conspiracy by a Texas grand jury.
  • 29 Sep 2005 John G. Roberts, Jr. is confirmed and sworn in as Chief Justice of the United States.
  • 30 Sep 2005 Michael Eisner resigns from The Walt Disney Company board of directors, also his last day as CEO of the company. The value of the company during Eisner's term (1984-2005) rose from US$3 billion to US$60 billion. New company CEO is Robert Iger.

Famous Birthday

Famous Deaths

Movies

Which were the most popular Movies released in that month?
Watch popular movies, TV series and live events, start your 30-day free trial

Walk the Line

Walk the Line

Release year: 2005

Directed by: James Mangold

Starring: Joaquin Phoenix, Reese Witherspoon, Ginnifer Goodwin, Robert Patrick

Country: United States of America

Walk the Line memorabilia

Lord of War

Lord of War

Release year: 2005

Directed by: Andrew Niccol

Starring: Nicolas Cage, Ethan Hawke, Jared Leto, Bridget Moynahan

Country: United States of America

Bab'Aziz

Bab'Aziz

Release year: 2005

Directed by: Nacer Khemir

Starring: Parviz Shahinkhou, Maryam Hamid, Golshifteh Farahani, Mohamed Graïaa

Kinky Boots

Kinky Boots

Release year: 2005

Directed by: Julian Jarrold

Starring: Chiwetel Ejiofor, Joel Edgerton, Sarah-Jane Potts, Nick Frost

Harsh Times

Harsh Times

Release year: 2005

Directed by: David Ayer

Starring: Christian Bale, Freddy Rodríguez, Eva Longoria, Chaka Forman

Books

Which were the most popular books released in September 2005?
Unlimited books on any devices, try your first month free

The Fairtax Book by Neal Boortz and John Linder

The Fairtax Book

By:

Wouldn't you love to abolish the IRS . . . Keep all the money in your paycheck . . . Pay taxes on what you spend, not what you earn

The World Is Flat by Thomas L. Friedman

The World Is Flat

By:

A New Edition of the Phenomenal #1 Bestseller"One mark of a great book is that it makes you see things in a new way, and Mr.

Hour Game by David Baldacci

Hour Game

By:

He's copying famous serial killers. And the HOUR GAME has just begun...A woman is found murdered in the woods. It seems like a simple case but it soon escalates into a terrible nightmare.

Lifeguard by James Patterson, Andrew Gross

Lifeguard

By:

The wildest thriller yet from "one of America's most influential authors" (New York Times)...Working as a lifeguard at a luxurious Florida resort, Ned Kelly meets the woman of his dreams.

The Tender Bar by J. R. Moehringer

The Tender Bar

By:

The New York Times bestseller and one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005. In the tradition of This Boy's Life and The Liar's Club, a raucous, poignant, luminously written