#
Boosts
Is this date important to you? Boost it!

Tuesday 26 December 2006

It was Tuesday, under the sign of Capricorn. The US president was George W. Bush (Republican). In that special week of December people in US were listening to Irreplaceable by Beyonce. In UK That's My Goal by Shayne Ward was in the top 5 hits. Children of Men, directed by Alfonso Cuarn, was one of the most viewed movies released in 2006 while For One More Day by Mitch Albom was one of the best selling books. On TV people were watching Fotograma. If you liked videogames you were probably playing ATV Offroad Fury 4 or Bode Miller Alpine Racing.
But much more happened that day: find out below..

You can also have a look at the whole 2006 or at December 26 across the years.

Old Newspapers

Old Newspapers

Have a look at the old newspapers from 26 December 2006 and get them!

TV Series

Which were the most popular TV series released in the last months ?

24/7

Starring: Chad Dawson, Liev Schreiber, Andre Ward

Country: United States

Storyville

Country: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

More info

Mr. Deity

Starring: Brian Dalton, Jimbo Marshall, Amy Rohren

Country: United States

Strutter

Starring: Paul Kaye, Paul Garner, Lucy Montgomery, Thaila Zucchi

Country: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Heavy Sedation

Starring: Brian Anthony Wilson, Damon Diggs, Rasheda El, Ina Farrell

Country: United States

More info

Movies

Which were the most popular movies released in the last 30 days ?

Children of Men

Directed by: Alfonso Cuarn

Starring: Julianne Moore, Clive Owen, Chiwetel Ejiofor

Country: United States

The Painted Veil

Directed by: John Curran

Starring: Naomi Watts, Edward Norton, Liev Schreiber

Country: United States

More info

Rocky Balboa

Directed by: Sylvester Stallone

Starring: Sylvester Stallone, Antonio Tarver, Milo Ventimiglia

Country: United States

More info

Eragon

Directed by: Stefen Fangmeier

Starring: Ed Speleers, Sienna Guillory, Jeremy Irons

Country: United States

More info

The Pursuit of Happyness

Directed by: Gabriele Muccino

Starring: Will Smith, Thandie Newton, Jaden Smith

Country: United States

More info

Find out your future

Get a FREE Numerology report based on the digits of 26 December 2006!

GET YOUR FREE NUMEROLOGY REPORT NOW

Wish him/her..

Send your special wishes with this personalized page

Send him/her your special wishes with this personalized page

Click here for a personalized message

Historical Events

Which were the important events of 26 December 2006 ?

Holidays:
  • First day of Kwanzaa
  • Australia - Proclamation Day (South Australian public holiday), for the foundation of the Australian state of South Australia on December 28, 1836 but commemorated on this day.
  • Wrenboys celebrate Wren in Ireland
  • Period of Ursids meteor shower ends about this day
  • Indonesia, Thailand, Malaysia - Tsunami Awareness Day/Tsunami Memorial (or Remembrance) Day
Famous Birthdays:
See famous people born on 26 December
Famous Deaths:
  • Ivar Formo: Norwegian skier (Born 1951).
  • Gerald Ford: American politician, a lawyer, congressman and Vice-President under Richard Nixon in 1969 and the 38th President of the United States.
Facts:
  • A 7.1 magnitude earthquake hit Hengchun, Pingtung, Taiwan, killing two people and causing severe communication disruptions in southeast Asia.
  • Almaz Atambayev, Chairman of the Social Democratic Party of Kyrgyzstan, warns that if Prime Minister Felix Kulov's proposed amendments to the constitution are passed, giving greater power to the executive branch, Kyrgyzstan will descend into civil war. (RadioFreeEurope/RadioLiberty)
  • War in Somalia: Somalia's Islamist militia are reported to have withdrawn from frontlines after a sustained assault by government forces backed by Ethiopian troops. (BBC)
  • Southwestern Taiwan is shaken by a 7.2 earthquake at 20:28 (GMT+8). A second aftershock, estimated at 7.1 and centered in Pingtung County, is felt 5 minutes later. According to the Pacific Tsunami Warning Centre, no Pacific-wide tsunami is expected. (CNN)

Featured Contents

Would you like to write an original contribution on a topic related to this specific date and get featured on Takemeback.to ? Send us your proposal!

Search For Your Ancestors

Sport Games on 26 December 2006

Championship
Football (United Kingdom)
  • Barnsley - Burnley : 1 - 0
  • Birmingham - QPR : 2 - 1
  • Cardiff - Plymouth : 2 - 2
  • Colchester - Luton : 4 - 1
See all Football game results of 26 December 2006
Conference
Football (United Kingdom)
  • Aldershot - Forest Green : 2 - 1
  • Altrincham - Northwich : 3 - 0
  • Cambridge - Rushden & D : 0 - 1
  • Dag and Red - Grays : 0 - 0
See all Football game results of 26 December 2006
Division 1
Football (United Kingdom)
  • Airdrie Utd - Ross County : 0 - 1
  • Dundee - Partick : 3 - 1
  • St Johnstone - Clyde : 2 - 1
See all Football game results of 26 December 2006
League 1
Football (United Kingdom)
  • Blackpool - Carlisle : 2 - 1
  • Bradford - Doncaster : 0 - 1
  • Brentford - Millwall : 1 - 4
  • Brighton - Yeovil : 1 - 3
See all Football game results of 26 December 2006

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Don't miss our monthly news, no spam guarantee Click here to Subscribe

...and if 26 December 2006 was your Birth Date then Join our Birthday Club!

Make this date unforgettable

Have a look at our special collection of personalized gifts

Look at our personalized gifts

Genealogy: find out your family heritage

Magazine Covers

What news were making the headlines those days in December 2006?

  • Time: A mirror in the middle of a computer screen
  • SportsIllustrated: Sports Illustrated: no.10597
  • EW: Entertainment Weekly: no.912

Books

Which were the most popular books released in the last weeks ?

Eragon

By: Christopher Paolini

Perfect for fans of Lord of the Rings, the New York Times bestselling Inheritance Cycle about the dragon rider Eragon has sold over 35 million copies and is an international fantasy sensation.

More info

For One More Day

By: Mitch Albom

From the author of The Five People You Meet in Heaven and Tuesdays with Morrie, a new novel that millions of fans have been waiting for.

More info

The Audacity of Hope

By: Barack Obama

In July 2004, Barack Obama electrified the Democratic National Convention with an address that spoke to Americans across the political spectrum. One phrase in particular anchored itself in listeners’ minds, a reminder that for all the discord and struggle to ...

More info

The Innocent Man: Murder and Injustice in a Small Town

By: John Grisham

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In the vein of Serial and Making a Murderer, John Grisham’s first work of nonfiction will terrify anyone who believes in the presumption of innocence.

More info

Remember when

Birthday and personalized Football books

Discover our birthday books

Videogames

What videogames would you be playing back in the days ?

Air Assault Task Force

Platform: Microsoft Windows

Genre: Wargame

Publisher: Shrapnel Games

More info

ATV Offroad Fury 4

Platform: PlayStation 2

Genre: Racing

Publisher: Sony Computer Entertainment

More info

Battlefield 2142

Platform: Microsoft Windows, OS X

Genre: First-person shooter

Publisher: Electronic Arts

More info
Bode Miller Alpine Racing

Bode Miller Alpine Racing

Platform: BREW, Java ME

Genre: Sports, Skiing

Publisher: Abandon Mobile

Bratz Babyz

Platform: PC Game Boy Advance

Genre: Adventure

Publisher: THQ

More info

#
Boosts
Is this date important to you? Boost it!

Tell the world why 26 December 2006 is such a special date for you!