#
Boosts
Is this date important to you? Boost it!

Friday 15 August 2008

It was Friday, under the sign of Leo. The US president was George W. Bush (Republican). In that special week of August people in US were listening to I Kissed A Girl by Katy Perry. Death Race, directed by Paul W.S. Anderson, was one of the most viewed movies released in 2008 while The Dark Side by Jane Mayer was one of the best selling books. On TV people were watching Mummy Forensics. If you liked videogames you were probably playing 19420: Joint Strike or Call of Duty: World at War – Final Fronts.
But much more happened that day: find out below..

You can also have a look at the whole 2008 or at August 15 across the years.

Old Newspapers

Old Newspapers

Have a look at the old newspapers from 15 August 2008 and get them!

TV Series

Which were the most popular TV series released in the last months ?

Earth: The Power of the Planet

Starring: Iain Stewart

Country: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

More info

Moon Machines

Starring: Robert Seamans, Wernher von Braun, John F. Kennedy, Frank Borman

Country: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

More info

Hey Ash, Whatcha Playin'?

Starring: Ashly Burch, Anthony Burch, David Burch

Country: United States

More info

Great Performances

Written by: Marion J. Caffey, Daniel Ezralow, Josh Groban

Starring: Julie Andrews, Plácido Domingo, Walter Cronkite, Renée Fleming

Country: United States

More info

Blue World

Starring: Jonathan Bird, Art Cohen

Country: United States

More info

Movies

Which were the most popular movies released in the last 30 days ?

Death Race

Directed by: Paul W.S. Anderson

Starring: Jason Statham, Joan Allen, Tyrese Gibson

Country: United States

More info

Vicky Cristina Barcelona

Directed by: Woody Allen

Starring: Rebecca Hall, Scarlett Johansson, Javier Bardem

Country: United States

More info

Tropic Thunder

Directed by: Ben Stiller

Starring: Ben Stiller, Jack Black, Robert Downey Jr.

Country: United States

More info

Pineapple Express

Directed by: David Gordon Green

Starring: Seth Rogen, James Franco, Gary Cole

Country: United States

More info

Step Brothers

Directed by: Adam McKay

Starring: Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly, Mary Steenburgen

Country: United States

More info

Find out your future

Get a FREE Numerology report based on the digits of 15 August 2008!

GET YOUR FREE NUMEROLOGY REPORT NOW

Wish him/her..

Send your special wishes with this personalized page

Send him/her your special wishes with this personalized page

Click here for a personalized message

Historical Events

Which were the important events of 15 August 2008 ?

Holidays:
  • Hawaii ? Toro Nagashi (Floating Lantern Ceremony) to commemorate the end of the second world war
  • Poland ? Polish Armed Forces Day
  • Eastern Orthodoxy ? Feast of the Dormition of the Theotokos, the commemoration of the death of Mary, the mother of Jesus.
  • RC Saints ? Feast day of the Assumption of Mary, the mother of Jesus, Holy Day of Obligation. Public Holiday in: Austria, Belgium, Cameroon, Chile, C(te d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, East Timor, France, Greece, India, Italy, Lebanon, Lithuania, Malta, Mauritius, Poland, Portugal, Seychelles, Slovenia and Spain.
  • Acadie ? National Day
Famous Birthdays:
See famous people born on 15 August
Famous Deaths:
Facts:
  • Poland signs a deal with the US to host part of its new missile defence shield. The US will install ten interceptor missiles at a base on the Baltic coast, and help strengthen Polish air defences.
  • ETS Europe, part of the American-owned Educational Testing Service, is sacked by the British government for bad failures in manipulating Key Stage education tests. ETS agrees to repay some £35 million (USD70 million). (BBC News)
  • Russia threatens Poland with military consequences for allowing the United States of America to place defense missiles within its borders. (AP via Google News)
  • 2008 South Ossetia war:
  • Russian soldiers continue to occupy Georgian towns. (''The Independent'')

Featured Contents

Would you like to write an original contribution on a topic related to this specific date and get featured on Takemeback.to ? Send us your proposal!

Search For Your Ancestors

Sport Games on 15 August 2008

Bundesliga 1
Football (Germany)
  • Bayern Munich - Hamburg : 2 - 2
See all Football game results of 15 August 2008
Bundesliga 2
Football (Germany)
  • Aachen - Wehen : 2 - 1
  • Mainz - Kaiserslautern : 3 - 3
  • St Pauli - Osnabruck : 2 - 2
See all Football game results of 15 August 2008
Division 2
Football (France)
  • Ajaccio - Dijon : 1 - 1
  • Angers - Sedan : 3 - 0
  • Clermont - Nimes : 2 - 0
  • Guingamp - Reims : 0 - 2
See all Football game results of 15 August 2008

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Don't miss our monthly news, no spam guarantee Click here to Subscribe

...and if 15 August 2008 was your Birth Date then Join our Birthday Club!

Make this date unforgettable

Have a look at our special collection of personalized gifts

Look at our personalized gifts

Genealogy: find out your family heritage

Magazine Covers

What news were making the headlines those days in August 2008?

Books

Which were the most popular books released in the last weeks ?

The Dark Side

By: Jane Mayer

One of The New York Times 10 Best Books of the Year National BestsellerWith a New AfterwordNational Book Critics Circle Award Finalist A Best Book of the Year: Salon, Slate,

More info

Damage Control

By: J. A. Jance

At first glance, it appears to be an accident . . .A car carrying an elderly couple goes off the side of a mountain and tumbles into oblivion on a beautiful

More info

Sail

By: James Patterson, Howard Roughan

THE SIZZLING #1 BESTSELLER #1 New York Times #1 Chicago Tribune#1 Washington Post #1 Wall Street Journal#1 USA Today #1 NewsdayAmerica's #1 bestselling thriller writer, James Patterson presents his most suspenseful, explosive tale ever.

More info

The Lace Reader

By: Brunonia Barry

In the tradition of The Thirteenth Tale, Brunonia Barry’s bewitching gothic novel, The Lace Reader, is a phenomenon. Called “[a] richly imagined saga of passion, suspense, and magic” by Time Magazine,

More info

Remember when

Birthday and personalized Football books

Discover our birthday books

Videogames

What videogames would you be playing back in the days ?

Domino Master

Platform: Windows, Xbox 360 (XBLA)

Genre: Casual game

Publisher: PC: TikGames, Real Xbox 360: Microsoft Game Studios

More info
19420: Joint Strike

19420: Joint Strike

Platform: Xbox 360, PlayStation 3

Genre: Vertical scrolling shooter

Publisher: Capcom

Brothers in Arms: Hour of Heroes

Brothers in Arms: Hour of Heroes

Platform: iOS

Genre: Third-person shooter

Publisher: Gameloft

Brothers in Arms: Hell's Highway

Platform: PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, Microsoft Windows

Genre: First-person shooter

Publisher: Ubisoft

More info

Call of Duty: World at War – Final Fronts

Platform: PlayStation 2[1][2]

Genre: First-person shooter

Publisher: Activision

More info

#
Boosts
Is this date important to you? Boost it!

Tell the world why 15 August 2008 is such a special date for you!