#
Boosts
Is this date important to you? Boost it!

Sunday 14 September 2008

It was Sunday, under the sign of Virgo. The US president was George W. Bush (Republican). In that special week of September people in US were listening to Whatever You Like by T.I.. Zack and Miri Make a Porno, directed by Kevin Smith, was one of the most viewed movies released in 2008 while The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry was one of the best selling books. On TV people were watching Body in Numbers. If you liked videogames you were probably playing All Star Cheer Squad or Beatmania IIDX 16: Empress.
But much more happened that day: find out below..

You can also have a look at the whole 2008 or at September 14 across the years.

Old Newspapers

Old Newspapers

Have a look at the old newspapers from 14 September 2008 and get them!

TV Series

Which were the most popular TV series released in the last months ?

Earth: The Power of the Planet

Starring: Iain Stewart

Country: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

More info

Moon Machines

Starring: Robert Seamans, Wernher von Braun, John F. Kennedy, Frank Borman

Country: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

More info

Hey Ash, Whatcha Playin'?

Starring: Ashly Burch, Anthony Burch, David Burch

Country: United States

More info

Great Performances

Written by: Marion J. Caffey, Daniel Ezralow, Josh Groban

Starring: Julie Andrews, Plácido Domingo, Walter Cronkite, Renée Fleming

Country: United States

More info

Blue World

Starring: Jonathan Bird, Art Cohen

Country: United States

More info

Movies

Which were the most popular movies released in the last months ?

Zack and Miri Make a Porno

Directed by: Kevin Smith

Starring: Seth Rogen, Elizabeth Banks, Craig Robinson

Country: United States

More info

Slumdog Millionaire

Directed by: Danny Boyle

Starring: Dev Patel, Freida Pinto, Saurabh Shukla

Country: United States

More info

Death Race

Directed by: Paul W.S. Anderson

Starring: Jason Statham, Joan Allen, Tyrese Gibson

Country: United States

More info

Vicky Cristina Barcelona

Directed by: Woody Allen

Starring: Rebecca Hall, Scarlett Johansson, Javier Bardem

Country: United States

More info

Tropic Thunder

Directed by: Ben Stiller

Starring: Ben Stiller, Jack Black, Robert Downey Jr.

Country: United States

More info

Find out your future

Get a FREE Numerology report based on the digits of 14 September 2008!

GET YOUR FREE NUMEROLOGY REPORT NOW

Wish him/her..

Send your special wishes with this personalized page

Send him/her your special wishes with this personalized page

Click here for a personalized message

Historical Events

Which were the important events of 14 September 2008 ?

Holidays:
  • Eastern Orthodox Church - Exaltation of the Cross, which commemorates the discovery of the (allegedly) original Christian cross in 326 by Helena, mother of Constantine, as well as the recovery from the Persians by Heraclius in 628.
  • Formerly, in the Roman Catholic and Anglican churches, the Wednesday, Friday and Saturday following 14 September were observed as one of the four sets of Ember days. In the Irish calendar they were known as Quarter tense.
  • Roman Catholic Church - Triumph of the Cross (compare May 3, Finding of the Holy Cross).
  • In ancient Greece, the first day of the Eleusinian Mysteries, during which the sacred objects were brought from Eleusis to Athens.
Famous Birthdays:
See famous people born on 14 September
Famous Deaths:
Facts:
  • (to September 16) The Ira & Larry Goldberg Coins & Collectibles Pre-Long Beach auction is held.
  • A granite memorial stone to Felix Schlag, designer of the Jefferson 5-cent coin, is dedicated at his grave site in Oak Hill Cemetery in Owosso, Michigan.
  • 2008 South Ossetia war:
  • The Georgian foreign ministry has released an official statement stating that 'In the villages of the Tskhinvali region/South Ossetia, Georgia, the separatist regime continues carrying out persecution of local Georgian population based on their ethnic origin', adding that 'Once again it becomes evident that for the Russian government the ethnic cleansing remains as one of the main methods for achieving its political goals'. (Rustavi 2)
  • Subprime mortgage crisis

Featured Contents

Would you like to write an original contribution on a topic related to this specific date and get featured on Takemeback.to ? Send us your proposal!

Search For Your Ancestors

Sport Games on 14 September 2008

Serie A
Italian Football
  • Bologna - Atalanta : 0 - 1
  • Genoa - Milan : 2 - 0
  • Juventus - Udinese : 1 - 0
  • Lazio - Sampdoria : 2 - 0
See all Football game results of 14 September 2008
Jupiler League
Football (Belgium)
  • Charleroi - Cercle Brugge : 3 - 2
  • Waregem - Genk : 1 - 3
See all Football game results of 14 September 2008
Bundesliga 1
Football (Germany)
  • Bochum - Bielefeld : 2 - 0
  • Hannover - M'gladbach : 5 - 1
See all Football game results of 14 September 2008
Bundesliga 2
Football (Germany)
  • Augsburg - Freiburg : 1 - 3
  • Greuther Furth - Koblenz : 4 - 3
  • Hansa Rostock - Mainz : 2 - 2
  • Osnabruck - Frankfurt FSV : 3 - 2
See all Football game results of 14 September 2008

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Don't miss our monthly news, no spam guarantee Click here to Subscribe

...and if 14 September 2008 was your Birth Date then Join our Birthday Club!

Make this date unforgettable

Have a look at our special collection of personalized gifts

Look at our personalized gifts

Genealogy: find out your family heritage

Magazine Covers

What news were making the headlines those days in September 2008?

  • EW: Entertainment Weekly: no.1010
  • SportsIllustrated: Sports Illustrated: no.11088
  • Time: Close up photo of John McCain. Photograph by Platon

Books

Which were the most popular books released in the last weeks ?

The Lace Reader

By: Brunonia Barry

In the tradition of The Thirteenth Tale, Brunonia Barry’s bewitching gothic novel, The Lace Reader, is a phenomenon. Called “[a] richly imagined saga of passion, suspense, and magic” by Time Magazine,

More info

The Way Of The World

By: Ron Suskind

From Pulitzer Prize–winning journalist and bestselling author Ron Suskind comes a startling look at how America lost its way and at the nation's struggle, day by day, to reclaim the moral

More info

Twilight

By: Stephenie Meyer

Isabella Swan's move to Forks, a small, perpetually rainy town in Washington, could have been the most boring move she ever made. But once she meets the mysterious and alluring Edward Cullen, Isabella's life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn.

More info

The Guernsey Literary And Potato Peel Pie Society

By: Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER“I wonder how the book got to Guernsey? Perhaps there is some sort of secret homing instinct in books that brings them to their perfect readers.”

More info

Remember when

Birthday and personalized Football books

Discover our birthday books

Videogames

What videogames would you be playing back in the days ?

Bigfoot: Collision Course

Platform: Windows, Nintendo DS, Wii

Genre: Driving game

Publisher: Zoo Games

More info

All Star Cheer Squad

Platform: Wii Nintendo DS

Genre: Rhythm game

Publisher: THQ

More info

Beatmania IIDX 16: Empress

Platform: Arcade, PlayStation 2

Genre: Music

Publisher: Konami Computer Entertainment Tokyo

More info

BoneTown

Platform: Microsoft Windows

Genre: Action-adventure

Publisher: D-Dub Software

More info
Buzz! Junior: Ace Racers

Buzz! Junior: Ace Racers

Platform: PlayStation 2

Genre: Party, racing

Publisher: Sony Computer Entertainment Europe


#
Boosts
Is this date important to you? Boost it!

Tell the world why 14 September 2008 is such a special date for you!